Beer and Loathing in Lexington, KY

Well, last night I rolled 1.5 hours down the interstate to the hallowed confines of Lexington, Kentucky.  Why would someone voluntarily go on the road after working all day, you might ask?  Well, it was finally time for a once-in-a-blue-moon adventure.

Alex, Duncan, and I have known one another for years.  Alex and Duncan more-so than me; I’m the new kid since they’ve only known me for like 6 years.  We met through the DWO.59, an e-wrestling fed run by a mutual friend Scribe (who now runs New Alberta Pro Wrestling, so if you’re into competitive writing and wrestling, go join it).  Duncan recruited me to join his personal NWC federation, TSW, and Alex and Jade and I formed a stable of DWO wrestlers there, with a few other additions along the way.

Anyway, that’s totally not the point.

Alex had moved to a little town here in Kentucky to be with his girlfriend.  Of course, things didn’t work out, she becomes a raving psychobitch, and long story short, he had no money in his pocket and no place to stay after Wednesday night.  So, since we’ve all been wanting to hang out but could never quite make it happen, it was decided that Alex would spend the night with Duncan, I’d come up from The Ville, and we’d grill out, drink beer, and generally talk shit and hang out and bond over our love of weapons, alcohol, wrestling, and nerdy RPG/Internet meme stuff.  Duncan had some friends over, most of whom I’d met before, and we all hung out and ate grilled meats before the non-hackers and women got left behind and the Four Horsemen (including the illustrious Schaef) were off to the bar.

Long story short, I get home this morning at 6 AM, get to sleep by 7, and wake up today at 4:00 in the afternoon with significantly less money in my pocket than I had yesterday.  Alex should be on his way back to Florida now (Duncan and I gave him a few hundred bucks so he could both drive and eat, since he was literally broke) , if he’s not too hung-over.  I kind of wish I had spent the night there and helped Alex work over that $80 in expensive beer he had, but I’m the only one in the house, so I had to get back to take care of the cat and to keep our sketchy new neighbors at bay.

Leave a Reply

