Upon reposting reviews

My quandry is I have roughly three years of movie and DVD reviews, interviews, and errata that are on JK’s server space that I want to rescue and hopefully repost here.

Should I just dump it all into postdated WordPress posts or what would you folks recommend? That was my original idea, and I’ve done three of them with their original posting dates at Film Sewer, but I don’t know how it will show up in your RSS feeds (or if anyone will even care). If this shows up and looks like crapola, or if it ruins your feed’s chronology, let me know below.

Between Newscoma‘s blog crush on me thanks to my love of horror, Lynnster‘s good taste in music, and Short and Fat‘s thrilling RED DAWN quotation, I think I’m going to like this whole ‘shamelessly sucking off the fame of my far more social but less talented cousin‘ thing. I feel like Joe Estevez, or Don Swayze.

14 Responses to “Upon reposting reviews”

  1. badbadivy Says:

    I think I’m going to like this whole ’shamelessly sucking off the fame of my far more social but less talented cousin’ thing.

    Die. In. A. Fire. If you had said you were far more intelligent, I’d be down. But I’m a writing motherfucker, motherfucker! Take it back!

  2. subtlebluntness Says:

    Martin Sheen and Patrick Swayze > Joe Estevez and Don Swayze. You totally win this comparison! Would you rather be the Clint Howard to my Opie? That can be arranged.

  3. Lynnster Says:

    Ooooh! Mean nasty family infighting and drama too, your blog has EVERYTHING. I’m going to have to start popping a bowl of popcorn before I drop by.

    Thanx for the props about my music, amigo. You’re cool.

    As for the reviews thing, take a look at what I did for Recovering Baptist’s Bollywood film reviews:

    http://martiniministry.wordpress.com/

    That might be the easiest thing to do with what you’re talking about, or maybe just the reviews anyway. I moved her from an all-HTML pages site to WordPress, so it was just a matter of copy/pasting into new WordPress pages and subpages. A little tedious but not too hard.

  4. Lynnster Says:

    (PS I would suggest that maybe – maybe – you are even cooler than Ivy… but she is lots taller than me, and I don’t wanna get my ass kicked.) 😉

  5. Ron Says:

    Ivy just doesn’t realize how huge of a compliment it is to be called the Clint Howard to my Opie. I mean yeah, Opie is the successful, rich one, but Clint Howard IS the Ice Cream Man, and that’s hard to beat.

    As for the C&P, that was what I was going to do, but I didn’t want to subject readers to 20 4-year-old movie reviews in one night, since apparently the RSS feed on Google throws them up by order of post, not date. Looks like I might have to.

    (I got your back, she won’t do nothin’. She’s tall, but I’m taller, and I know where she lives)

  6. Lynnster Says:

    Right, but if you make the reviews pages instead of posts, they won’t go into the RSS feed. That’s what I did with Recovering Baptist’s, her Bollywood stuff is just pages and subpages rather than posts.

    Still Googleable and searchable, but they don’t publish to the RSS feed.

    PS Are you in Tennessee? Just bein’ nosy.

  7. newscoma Says:

    The Clint Howard to my Opie?
    Hee.

  8. Ron Says:

    Lynnster: Nope, I’m in Kentucky, not Tennessee, but I tend to get down that way every few months, or whenever I have good reason to get out of the state for awhile. Like last time I killed a guy with a trident and had to lay low for awhile.

    I suppose I’ll do the reviews page like that, then. Not that I mind so much filling up everyone’s RSS readers, but they might mind it, so I’d better not. I’m all for making everyone read my stuff whether they want to or not.

  9. Ron Says:

    Hmm, I tried that, but it’s not quite a satisfying solution.

    I like having the posts sorted by date and having all the various and sundry tags involved for easy browsing by genre and whatnot. I may just sneak in one or two at a time and beg for indulgence later. Since I’m lazy (and indeed, this may never actually happen), I figure it’ll be good to do on days in which I don’t have a normal post thought up.

  10. Dayngr Says:

    Surfed over from Ivy. =)

  11. newscoma Says:

    Horror Movie Crush?
    Is this a bad thing?
    🙂

  12. Ron Says:

    Nope, it’s not a bad thing, so long as we’re talking a normal kind of crush and not the “Audition” kind of crush. I kind of like having both my feet, and don’t want that to change.

  13. Lynnster Says:

    Hey Ron – I noticed when you posted some the other night, they appeared in the bottom of the queue for you in my feed reader… which should mean that once you have more posts on here and have posted several reviews, they’ll keep posting to the bottom. Mine works the same as most (except for Google) so they shouldn’t be very obtrusive really… well, except for the Google feed readers.

  14. Ron Says:

    I’m a Google feed reader, but screw me, I already know what my reviews say anyway.

Leave a Reply

