we must protect this house

I couldn’t find anything worth a damn in the garage to block the windows to the front porch, but I did find pressboard enough to cover the window in the back door. I broke the legs off the kitchen table and rolled it into the living room to cover most of the front window. Put a few nails into it, and for good measure, I pushed the bed half of the sectional against it to boot.

My back is killing me now. I forgot how heavy that mother was.

Phones are finally done for. No busy signal on the house phone or the cell; not even the soothing operator.

I went around and filled up the bathtubs. The water’s out in other places, and I don’t want to take my chances.

Leave a Reply

