the dentist will torture you now

I’ve spent a lot of money on my mouth.  Braces, bonding, cleaning, fillings… you name it, I’ve paid some lab-coated monster to torture me with it, all in the name of undoing the defects that have kept me out of those Crest ads the past 25 years.  It’s a combination of being a premature baby and my mother’s English heritage.  I remind her of this every six months, when it’s time to get my chewers cleaned and a month later when it’s time to get the inevitable cavities filled or fillings replaced.

No matter how often I brush, floss, gargle, and pray, I always have some filling going bad or some cavity or something that requires them to jab me in the mouth.  No exceptions.   I have what my dentist, Dr. Mengele, calls weak enamel.  I pop out fillings from normal wear and tear, and when I had braces, they used to pop loose (or threaten to) every time I went in to get my wires tightened.  Hopefully it’s all worth it.

This is my second dentist trip this week.  The pain from my latest filling replacement, and the minute-long injection of Novocain into my jawbone (the very back left tooth, damn it), is surprisingly strong.  Even after the three Tylenol and a brief nap. 

But hey, it could always be worse.  I could’ve broken a tooth.  Ouch!

3 Responses to “the dentist will torture you now”

  1. newscoma Says:

    Yup. It is of the suck.
    I hope they give me that groovy gas when I go to the dentist.

  2. Ron Says:

    My dentist doesn’t even have the gas anymore (that I know of).

  3. Klinde Says:

    I have had a cracked tooth for over a year and am way too petrified of the dentist (love the Dr. Mengele referenence) to go and get it fixed. I have not been to the dentist since 1993 and know I will pay the price (not only physically, but financially as well) once I finally face the fact that I “gotta”.

    On a separate note, met some great folks at the NiT gathering at the Flying Saucer tonight… Folks I can actually see myself hanging out with outside of the NiT forum.

    Coma, you were missed.

    Ron, glad you escaped the zombies unscathed….

Leave a Reply

