Happy Father’s Day

Normally I’d write up or find an older gushy “I love my Dad” piece and post it here, but I don’t feel like crying right now.  So instead, I’ll just wish everybody a happy father’s day and gay it up with my emotions later on tonight.  Until then, find that crazy old man and thank him for making you insane.

As for me, I didn’t know what in the world to get my dad.  He’s got a jacket, gloves, and boots for when he rides his motorcycle.  He got himself new sneakers and new houseshoes this week, thus interfering with the traditional Father’s Day shoes gift.   He’s not the kind of person to want a lot of things; what he does want he doesn’t wait for someone else to get for him.  So, I got him junk food.

I was going to get him one of those Pepperidge Farm Vanilla cakes and some ice cream, but they didn’t have any of the vanilla cakes.  So I got him a Dutch apple pie, cherry cordial ice cream, some of that rancid nacho cheese in the plastic tub, and a bag of Ruffles to eat the rancid cheese with.  I suck at buying people presents for holidays, so food-based treats will have to do.

3 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day”

  1. Klinde Says:

    Ha, know what you mean… I was planning on the food approach as well, complete with my picking up the tab… Alas he decided he wanted to grill. So I went for a visit with the folks whilst the German was in Indy watching Formula One live…. I did not even have to the dishes….

    What is it about food and houseshoes that just screams Father’s Day?

  2. Jade Says:

    I have the worst time getting stuff for my husband for holidays because he always buys himself anything he wants, even when he knows there’s holidays approaching.

    If I ask him what he’d like for a gift, he says, “Nothing.”

    One year, that’s just what he got. He wasn’t happy about that, either.

    Usually, unless I know there’s something in particular he wants, I get him the stuff he refuses to admit he needs. This year, I got him a bathrobe (so he’ll stop embarrassing our son when he walks naked from the bathroom to the bedroom or vice versa) and three pairs of work pants in his ACTUAL size, not the size he thinks he can still wear. He might not like them, but I know his crew will thank me, because I think they’re getting really tired of seeing his ass hang out of his pants because he can’t pull them all the way up over his gut. 🙂

  3. Ron Says:

    I’m not sure what it is about Fathers Day that lends it self to useful presents and foodstuffs. I guess because most guys don’t want flowers or whatever, and dads usually are pretty self-reliant and don’t drop a ton of hints about toys they want.

    A few years ago I got my dad a new computer for Father’s Day, so that should make me immune for at least four years worth of presents.

Leave a Reply

