Chris Benoit

My cousin is running NiT for two whole days, which means if I play my cards right I get a free link from NiT and all the hits and publicity that comes along with it. So, of course, I have absolutely nothing of substance to write about, thanks in no small part to the demise of Chris Benoit, one of my favorite wrestlers ever. Sigh.

I’ve been a huge fan of the Crippler since 1993, when he broke into WCW by wrestling 2 Cold Scorpio and Jushin “Thunder” Liger. My man-crush on Benoit only deepened when I discovered ECW and his work in the Triple Threat. Never one for working the microphone, and always on the small side for a professional wrestler, Benoit made up for his flaws by being a peerless performer in the ring, an excellent storyteller and ring technician, and by cultivating a look and style that played up his stoic demeanor.

I hope things don’t work out the way I fear they will. I don’t want my memories of the man tainted by the circumstances of his early death. It’s hard to accept our heroes are human.

One Response to “Chris Benoit”

  1. Nashville is Talking » Chris Benoit, murderer or hero? Says:

    […] Isaac at Sports B*stards is distraught, as is Ron over at his personal blog. […]

Leave a Reply

