certain details withheld to protect modesty

As you folks know, I toil away at a variety of web-based ventures for no money. Well, that’s no longer the case, at least officially. I still toil away at a variety of web-based ventures for no money, but at least once my toiling has netted me a crisp, sparkly new Amazon.com gift card! And to think, my birthday is only 2 weeks away (August 8), so it looks like I’m really going to put a hurtin’ on my Wish List this year, rather than just letting my lusted-after DVDs gather dust on some shelf somewhere in Cyberville.

I know it’s just a silly gift card, and I know all the other writers got something too. I’m not a special case, and it’s not because I asked my nameless boss the other day when I was going to get paid. Still, it’s nice to feel appreciated, and it’s nice to write about my gig as “Workin’ for the Man” rather than the usual “Shameless Self Promotion” tag. Just think, if I click my heels three times, maybe next time it’ll be a legitimate check, or at least a case of Miller Lite (inside joke).

I know I already told them I appreciate it, but I figured I’d go ahead and make a public pronouncement.

Author’s Note: Yes, I know I’m hinting hard at what multi-million dollar company I’m slutting my brain out for, but you guys have no idea how stupidly I’ve been grinning all day. All I’ve ever wanted in my life is to write something good enough that someone liked enough to give me a few bucks for, and now I’ve done that. If I get hit by a car tomorrow, I’ll die happy. This is, in all honesty, the summation of a long-time dream I’ve had.

Author’s Note 2: Actually, I won’t die happy, because I’ll have died without spending my damn money!

8 Responses to “certain details withheld to protect modesty”

  1. Jade Says:

    Just remember not to touch the Wish List until AFTER your birthday, because some of us still need to buy your stuff. 😀

  2. Anthony Enticknap Says:

    I bought a battery charger and batteries with mine. I intended to use them with my old camera. Unfortunately, it seems the camera is knackered.

  3. squirrelqueen Says:

    Congratulations!
    Yay for you!
    Can we call you an “old pro” now?

  4. Ron Says:

    Jade: If I buy anything pre-birthday, it’ll be off my own wishlist, no worries!

    Anthony: I love it when that happens. And by love it, I mean hate it. That said, fresh batteries are on my list of things to buy.

    SQ: Thank you! You can call me whatever you like, just don’t call me late for dinner.

  5. Martin Anderson Says:

    I just bought the complete ‘Father Ted’ collection with mine, though it was a hard toss-up between that and the complete series 1-3 of ‘Bottom’. I love Amazon vouchers because I’d never have the nerve to spend that much cash on a complete series.

    Oh, hang on, I bought the complete series of UFO in 2002 at the full price of £100 ($200).

    Well, rarely, then.

  6. Ron Says:

    I have no idea what Bottom and UFO are, but I do know (and love) Father Ted. I also added you to my blogroll, Martin.

  7. how flies time… er, time flies « Subtle Bluntness Says:

    […] flies time… er, time flies It seems like only yesterday that I was waxing poetic about an Amazon gift card.  Oh, it was so cute, too.  Thrilled to death that a million-dollar company could squeeze out a […]

  8. The Flying Car « Subtle Bluntness Says:

    […] shameless whoring for my birthday (even though I didn’t, you know, link them to my wishlist like I did here).  Is a little slavish devotion too much to ask?   I mean really, I don’t ask for a lot […]

Leave a Reply

