TV’s Warm, Glowing, Warming Glow.

I spent a lot of time over the holiday season watching television. Actually, I spent a lot of time watching television period, especially this year, but the holiday season is always a time in which lots of television is watched because when you don’t have to get up for work the next day and you can’t go out because you’re handcuffed to your family, there’s not much else to do. Sure, you could talk to your relatives, but after about half an hour of that you remember why you only see those people a few times a year.

Regardless of where you are, television always changes for the holiday season. Whether it’s a Doctor Who holiday special, the annual showing of It’s A Wonderful Life, or the omnipresent special sporting events that fill the televised landscape between Halloween and New Years Day, you never really know what to expect when you turn on that box full of pictures and noise to distract your relatives from the fact that you’re still not married, have a crap job, and live in your parents’ basement.

One of the big time killers is the marathon. If you own the rights to a lot of something, then the holiday season is the time to force it on your viewers whether they want to watch it or not. It gives those hard-working programmers a much needed break, allows you to avoid competing with Santa Claus and company, and gives Grinches like myself something to fall asleep while watching in the midst of a holiday drunk.

Check out my five favorite holiday-time TV marathons.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “TV’s Warm, Glowing, Warming Glow.”

  1. Jade Says:

    For once, I wasn’t able to take a single episode of TZ off my list this New Year’s. The one episode that I saw listed that qualified was on too late for me to either stay up for or wake up to see. I don’t record them, either–if I wanted to watch any of the episodes, I could simply pop in a DVD from the TZ box set I own, but to me, it only counts if I can watch them as aired on TV. The day I manage to get them all seen (and I’m down to 8 left), that’s the day I’ll crack open that box set. 😀

  2. bananatree Says:

    I almost forgot about the marathons! I’m glad my parents ditched all but basic cable or I’d be subjected to another marathon of John Wayne movies on one of those man channels again.

Leave a Reply

