In Honor of Dr. MLK – Blacula

So, I was thinking of a way in which I could pay homage to the good Doctor, Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., whose holiday gives us a day off of work in the middle of January. I mean, he did that for me, so the least I could do is return the favor for him. I figured what better way to pay tribute to the man than to pay tribute to the film industry that carried on his legacy from 1971-1984, the blaxploitation film industry!

Over at the old Living Corpse (now Film Sewer), every February was Blaxploitation History Month. I loved it, because not only did it allow me to pay homage to some of my favorite 70’s sleaze movies, it also kept us topical and allowed us to kill a month with a great, inventive theme while digging deep into the old American International Pictures film archives. Plus, topless Pam Grier.

So, over the next couple of days, I’ll be reposting some of my old reviews, some trailers, and all the assorted things that I love about blaxploitation cinema. Let’s start with my favorite blaxploitation horror movie so far (I’ve yet to see Abby), the epic 1972 classic, Blacula. The review is here, the trailer is below.

What about you guys? Got any favorite blaxploitation movies I should check out for next month?

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “In Honor of Dr. MLK – Blacula”

  1. rawdawgbuffalo Says:

    nice dedication…chk out my post about the King THANK WE FREE

Leave a Reply

