Initial Launch: Please watch for icebergs

Come along with me, brothers and sisters, for the maiden voyage of the Cinematic Titanic. That would be the new project from Mystery Science Theater 3000 creator Joel Hodgson, “Dr. F” Trace Beaulieu, TV’s Frank Conniff, “Mrs. F” Mary Jo Pehl, and J. Elvis Weinstein. Huzzah!

In spite of my moderately critical review, I’m incredibly glad they’re all back, and I laughed a great deal while watching the new release. It’s got its weak points, and you can tell most of the gang hasn’t riffed in a long-ass time (unlike the Rifftrax/Film Crew gang), but the point is they’re back and they’re going to be around for a little while longer, or until Joel burns out again. Five people is a bit much, but it’s completely worth purchasing.

Now that I’ve said all that, you’ve got no reason to click on the review link. Not that you would have before. I know I’m catering to a niche audience of 30 people when I talk about MST3k, but it’s my niche, damn it! And they’re my people!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Initial Launch: Please watch for icebergs”

  1. squirrelqueen Says:

    Oh how I adored MST3K!!!
    Brilliant.
    Can’t wait to check this out when I get home tonight.

  2. Ron Says:

    I think the Film Crew DVD releases, with former MST3K head writer Mike Nelson, Kevin “Servo” Murphy” and Bill “Sci-Fi Channel Crow” Corbett are even better. The one thing Cinematic Titanic was missing was Kevin Murphy’s fake woman voice.

Leave a Reply

