Will Ferrell is just about over

I hate to be the one to break it to everyone, but Will Ferrell is not a star. Not in the sense that a star is someone who can hoist an otherwise mediocre movie on his back and carry it to greatness, that is. That’s why Semi-Pro looked like a bunch of crap on the previews, why I think the Will Ferrell magic does not exist, and why I think his days as Afro’d Jim Carrey are over before they ever even started.

I mean, I think Old School is a great movie, and he’s very much the reason for it, but when he’s by himself? Meh, I’m not interested. His posturing and screeching overreactions are played out, and like Jack Black, he doesn’t have any other real options when he’s asked to carry a movie other than be a buffoon. Hell, he’s even been upstaged by an abusive, hard-drinking baby!

The Landlord on FunnyOrDie.com

Feel free to join the throngs of people over at Den of Geek calling me a moron (in kinder terms… well, they’re kinder, but you don’t have to be).

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Will Ferrell is just about over”

  1. Jade Says:

    I’m with you, babe–other than “The Landlord” and his SNL stuff, Will Ferrell just doesn’t do it for me. I’m not sure if it’s because he seems to be playing the same character repeatedly or it’s just that he can’t seem to maintain a two-hour routine as well as he does a five- or ten-minute one. It’s also possible that because you get practically every minute of every film he does thrown at you non-stop via trailers and product promotion that, eventually you want to throw a brick at his head.

  2. Klinde Says:

    I am so glad someone else does not like Will Ferrell. He annoys the hell out of me.

  3. Ron Says:

    It’s not that I don’t like him; I do, at least slightly. I just think there’s WAY TOO MUCH of him on TV right now.

  4. Eric Says:

    I’m still hanging on to some hope for him. I hated Jim Carrey’s early work (Ace Ventura), but he came around and made some decent stuff. The movie that made me think twice about Will Ferrell was ‘Stranger Than Fiction.’ I thought he was excellent in that.

  5. coffee fiend Says:

    did Will Ferrell do this landlord skit specifically for online viewing?

Leave a Reply

