Another Irish Music Video

Well, not real Irish, but Irish enough due to lead singer Dave King. This band, ladies and gents, is my favorite band ever, and the best live band I’ve ever seen. They’re Flogging Molly, and I’ve been their biggest supporter since their first album came out. YouTube is full of great songs of theirs, and I’m full of Samuel Adams Cream Stout, so another video post awaits.

I’ve seen them three times. Once at the Warped Tour in Atlanta, once in Warped Tour Jr. here in Louisville, and once again at Jillians here in Louisville where the crowd drank the place out of beer. Once again, the crowd drank a BAR dry. Not just any bar, a huge bar. I’m not ashamed to say that, like Shake’n’Bake, I totally helped. That’s the night I met the guitar player and the drummer, and got pictures with them.

At the Atlanta Warped Tour, the accordion player rode right past me on a bike, pulling a little red wagon full of cases (cases) of Guinness. I’ve never wanted to bike-jack somebody so much in my life. If you’ve ever been to Atlanta in the middle of summer, it’s like Hell but with more humidity. It was probably over 100 degrees, and I’m crammed in with a few thousand people in a gravel parking lot, drinking water from a gallon jug I got at Kroger on the way to the venue. It’s probably a good thing they didn’t sell booze at the event, otherwise I would’ve probably died from dehydration.

At the Louisville Warped Tour Jr. stop, I met Dave King’s teenage son at the merchandise booth. He was just hanging out in the shade, and I recognised him instantly thanks to his accent and red hair. The first question I asked him was, “Do people come up to you and tell you your dad is awesome all the time?” He said yes, so I said, “Add me to the list.” So I shook his hand and spent a good 5-10 minutes bullshitting with him. Some friends of mine played the event, so I had a nifty backstage pass and since I was the only one close to sober, I did all the beer runs. Or at least one serious, expensive beer run.

Still, good times. I hope they come back to town again soon.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Another Irish Music Video”

  1. Klinde Says:

    Come see me, I tagged you for a meme.

Leave a Reply

