ghost in the machine

A few months back, Newscoma came to me and said, “Ron, you write everywhere. You really need to keep it all in one place in case the websites go offline.” I agreed and made notes to myself to do this. That was months ago.

Because I’m lazy, and because it’s been around for like 4 years, I figured that my old work at Living Corpse/Film Sewer would be the last things I’d have to worry about. After all, when I tried to buy the site in October 2006, I was told that it would be around forever, as long as the owner has the money to pay for it. While I have copied over a bunch of the reviews I had, there were another 50 or more left to transfer over. I’d do them in bunches, do a little editing to the old work as I went along, and reposted them here.

Life gets in the way, I get some writing work, I get lazy (again), and then when I go back to check on the old reviews, the website is gone and remains gone as of a few days ago. It’s not even a question of me not having the old reviews, because I compulsively backed up everything during my time as chief editor of the website. It’s more a question of the fragile nature of the work we here do in the internet aether. What you spend hours or years on may be gone before you know it, so save every little bit of electronic detritus you may produce if you think you’ll ever want to see it again.

So in that spirit, does anyone know how to make an archival backup of a WordPress.com blog? Internet magicians, heed me in my hour of need!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “ghost in the machine”

  1. newscoma Says:

    Right now, I’m backing everything on Tumblr and Friendfeed.
    But hell, thi

  2. newscoma Says:

    Well, I lost that. I was going to say, Hell, it isn’t perfect.

  3. Ron Says:

    Tumbler, like in a tumbler of scotch on the rocks? 😉

  4. lonelysealonelysky Says:

    I’m thinking about the same thing, so I post the same blogs on another site. After seeing some well-known networking site go down and a huge quiz site too, even though they both doing well, I decided to back up my posts in more than one place. The same for the laptop work to, because we know how reliable Windows is…

  5. Ron Says:

    That’s a great idea. If I wasn’t so lazy I would’ve been doing that this whole time. I’ve lost years worth of work already, though, so part of me is kind of like “Why bother now?”

  6. Lynnster Says:

    Did you ever get an answer on this?

    It’s easy.

    Go into your Dashboard>Manage>Export.

    Done. You could do it every day if you wanted.

  7. Ron Says:

    Awesome, thanks WordPress Guru!

Leave a Reply

