Tropic Thunder (2008) review

I’ll just say this right out front. Tropic Thunder is the movie that’s going to revive Tom Cruise’s career. Seriously, he’s *that* good in this movie that if you see it for no other reason, go see it for Tom Cruise. I’ve never said that about Tom Cruise in my life, I’ve never imagined I’d ever have a reason to say that about Tom Cruise, but… here we are. I’m kind of ashamed to say he was amazing, but he really blew my mind with his most un-self-conscious, yet most winking, performance ever.

This is coming from someone who hates Tom Cruise, but… yeah, he’s absolutely brilliant.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Tropic Thunder (2008) review”

  1. Lee Says:

    I kid you not, I watched it in a theater that only had a few people in it (late show on Thurs) when towards the end of the movie a guy in the back yelled, “Oh my God, that’s Tom Cruise!”

    I’m pretty sure he wasn’t being a smart ass about it, and had a genuine light bulb moment.

    My personal favorite was the landmine scene. Almost. Fell out of. My chair.

  2. Ron Says:

    Hahaha, I recognized him almost instantly, but still, it was a great makeup job. As for the landmine scene, that was BRILLIANT. So unexpected.

  3. movie buff Says:

    Robert Downey Jr. cracks me up… he’s got a real knack for not taking himself too seriously

  4. Ron Says:

    I think it was his role in Shane Black’s Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang that really opened up my eyes and made me go from “Meh, Robert Downey Jr.” to “YAY! Robert Downey Jr.!!!”

Leave a Reply

