Melancholia

This is my least favorite time of year. I love the weather, but I hate the holiday season. Of course, there are things I like (the Samuel Adams Winter Collection will be discussed at length in a later post) about this time of year, but most of your big gathering holidays kind of suck. It’s not just these two in general, or even the fact that there are holidays, it’s the general… I don’t know, the changes in life kind of suck.

One of the things I miss most about my father’s side grandmother (Nana) being gone is that every year at Thanksgiving, she made homemade stuffing, and because she knew that’s how I liked it, she always let it stay in just a little too long so the edges of each patty were crispy. My aunt now makes the stuffing, but she doesn’t let it get a little crispy.

She also made great custard. The drinkable kind, not the solid sort. We make it at the house for holidays, but maybe we’re not doing things right, or maybe it’s because we’re not using old cast iron cookware, or maybe it’s just because it’s not her making it, but it doesn’t taste the same.

Nothing every is as good as it was when you were younger, I guess. The big family get-togethers have dwindled in number, because everyone has jobs that work them strange hours and the old folks have been dying off. Sure we get together and me and my dad play Guitar Hero III with my cousin, and while that is a lot of fun, it’s just… to go back to the common refrain, not the same.

Anyway, now that I’ve made myself cry, I’ll go watch the rest of the football game (one of the few good new traditions is the Thursday Night Thanksgiving game on the NFL Network) and drink some beer to try and keep the blues at bay. Y’all kids be good, and hug your parents and grandparents extra hard tonight.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Melancholia”

  1. chez beziat Says:

    We’re on the same page, man. I drink the store bought boiled custard begrudgingly. It pales in comparison to my late grandmother’s, of course.

    I’m also too broke to buy a thing for any of the many wonderful people in my life.

    Bah, humbug. (Sam Adams, good.)

  2. Ron Says:

    Sometimes you just have to put your head down and keep pushing the pile of shit until March or April.

  3. Ginger Says:

    Herein lies the reason I chose to go up to Mack’s this year and consume large quantities of tequila along with the deep-fried turkey.

    I have no family here. I feel weird at other large family’s gatherings, so I have chosen to spend it alone the last couple of years (or go to the movies instead)…but this was very cool this year. Just a nice time, no pressure…

    The day started out excellent, too.

    A good day all around.

  4. Jade Says:

    *hugs Ron instead*

    That’s the weird thing about holidays; they make us both happy and miserable to varying degrees. Next year, why don’t YOU try making your Nana’s stuffing? Sometimes personally recreating the tradition (even if it’s not quite the same result) can make you feel a little better, like you’re honoring the person who gave you that tradition.

    My Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving for me if I didn’t make the sausage stuffing my mom always made, and taught me how to make. When I’ve celebrated Turkey Day someplace else, I always miss that stuffing, yet I won’t make it any other time except Thanksgiving.

  5. Ron Says:

    That’s a good idea, Jade. I might give that a shot.

  6. newscoma Says:

    I’m with Jade. I make my mom’s cornbread dressing. It makes me closer for some reason to everything that I remember.

  7. Klinde Says:

    I too am of the holidays suck philosophy. It does not help when I had to take my 86 year old Nana to the ER for what (thankfully) turned out to be tendonitis. It just added to the suckage.

    Beer helps the suckage.

    * hugs *
    Klinde

  8. Ron Says:

    Ouch, that’s rough Klinde, but I’m glad it’s nothing serious. Not long ago my mom had an EEG for chest pains, but it was just acid reflux. I can only imagine how much that added to Holiday Suck.

    *hugs back*

  9. Ginger Says:

    Ok, I must inform you that you have been tagged by me to do a meme (today’s your lucky day!) 🙂

Leave a comment